The protected region of the present-day DOCG Chianti Classico, that celebrated its 300th anniversary last year, represents one of the oldest wine regions in the world. Already in 1716 the Grand Duke of Tuscany, Cosimo de’ Medici III, set the borders of the wine-growing region Chianti reaching Florence to the North and Siena to the south and encompassing nine municipal areas: all of Castellina, Gaiole, Greve and Radda in Chianti, and part of Barberino Val d’Elsa, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Poggibonsi, San Casciano and Tavarnelle Val di Pesa.

The borderline has been almost the same since then, only the adjective „Classico“ was added in 1932, to distinguish the “original” Chianti from the wine made outside its territory.

Only the wines from this area can be released on the market as Chianti Classico DOCG and wear the seal of the Black Rooster.

The year 2013 represented an historical turning point for the Chianti Classico appellation. The existing DOCG classification was expanded towards the top, by adding a new premium level: the Gran Selezione, a top product, which emphasizes the typicality of this territory. Hence the Chianti Classico wines nowadays are available in three different typologies, with different characteristics in terms of refinement and chemical/organoleptic parameters: the vintage or Annata, the Riserva and the Gran Selezione.

Today, the Consorzio Vino Chianti Classico consists of nearly 600 member producers, of which around 370 sell their wine under their own label.